History of DSEC, organizational structure, statistical legislations, etc.Services & ProductsPromotional ActivitiesUseful information for survey respondentsFrequently asked questions about statistical knowledge and surveysPerformance PledgeStatistics e-learningContact
Home > Statistics > Demographic > By-Census > Detailed Results of 2016 Population By-Census
 
Detailed Results of 2016 Population By-Census
05/05/2017

The Statistics and Census Service (DSEC) conducted the 2016 Population By-census in August 2016 to obtain the latest information on population changes. DSEC releases the detailed results of the 2016 Population By-census following the announcement of the preliminary results at the end of last year.

Accelerated population growth coupled with continued population ageing in recent five years
Total population of Macao totalled 650,834 in August 2016, up by 17.8% from 552,503 in the 2011 Population Census, attributable to a surge in non-resident workers living in Macao and a rebound in birth rate. The average annual growth rate of the Macao population between 2011 and 2016 reached 3.3%, the highest in the past 20 years. Local population, excluding non-resident workers and foreign students living in Macao, totalled 537,018, up by 10.7% compared with 2011.

The population of Macao continued to age. The elderly population aged 65 and above increased substantially by 48.6% from five years ago to 59,383, accounting for 9.1% of the total population, up by 1.9 percentage points. Moreover, the percentage share of elderly population to the youth population aged 0-14 rose by 15.6 percentage points to 76.3%. On the other hand, population aged 55-64 took up 13.5% (87,583) of the total. The pace of population ageing is expected to accelerate further in the next decade.

An excess of females over males in the population of Macao
The female population outnumbered the male population. Females and males totalled 336,816 and 314,018 respectively, accounting for 51.8% and 48.2% of the total population. The gender ratio was 93.2, corresponding to 93.2 males per 100 females. As regards the local population, the gender ratio dropped from 92.7 five years ago to 90.2, and the surplus of females over males was more apparent.
 
Rising average age at first marriage
Unmarried persons accounted for 29.9% of the population aged 16 and above, an increase of 0.7 percentage points compared to five years ago. Married persons comprised 63.2%, down by 0.8 percentage points. The average age at first marriage rose continuously from 29.0 in 2011 to 29.5 in 2016.
 
Increasing population density
Population density of Macao was 21,340 people per square kilometre, up by 15.5% from 18,478 persons five years ago. Areia Preta & Iao Hon remained the most densely populated district, with 170,953 people per square kilometre, followed by Doca do Lamau with 146,857 people per square kilometre.
 
Largest population in Areia Preta & Iao Hon, highest population growth in Coloane Island
Areia Preta & Iao Hon remained the most populated statistical district, accounting for 11.8% of the total population, followed by Baixa da Taipa and NATAP, occupying 10.4% and 9.9% respectively. The population in Coloane Island surged by 530.9% from five years ago to 26,889 as more people were moving into the public housing units in the Island. Meanwhile, the populations in Pac On & Taipa Grande and Universidade & Baia de Pac On soared by 126.7% and 99.2% respectively due to an increase in tertiary education students moving into the dormitories.

Rising education level with over 20% of population having completed tertiary education
People who completed tertiary education comprised 23.1% of the population aged 3 and above, up by 6.4 percentage points compared to five years ago. Meanwhile, 50.7% of the population completed junior secondary education or lower, down notably by 6.5 percentage points.

Three-person households predominated
Number of households totalled 188,723, an increase of 10.5% compared to five years ago. Average household size was 3.07 persons, a slight decrease from 3.08 persons in 2011. Analysed by household size, three-person households predominated, accounting for 24.5% of the total households, up by 1.3 percentage points from five years earlier. By contrast, the proportion of four-person households fell by 1.6 percentage points to 21.4%.
 
Increasing households living in public housing
Due to an increase in supply of public housing, households living in economic housing (22,096) and social housing (12,223) increased by 34.2% and 108.8% respectively compared to five years ago, altogether accounting for 18.3% of the total households living in residential units, up by 5.1 percentage points. Households living in private housing totalled 153,299 (81.7%), up merely by 4.6%, with 8,573 households living in economic housing units of which ownership had been transferred.

Lower proportion of households living in owner-occupied units, increased proportion of tenant households
Households living in owner-occupied units (property belonging to member(s) of the household) totalled 124,126, accounting for 66.2% of the total households, down by 4.6 percentage points as compared with 2011. With an increasing number of people moving into social housing, as well as a surge in non-resident workers living in Macao, in recent years, the proportion of tenant households rose by 1.3 percentage points from five years ago to 25.8%, totalling 48,481.

Increasing number of households possessing motor vehicles
Households possessing motor vehicles (motorcycles or automobiles) rose by 13.1% from five years ago to 105,993. Households possessing multiple vehicles became more common; those owning 3 or more motor vehicles totalled 21,212, a substantial increase of 28.9% compared to five years ago. Meanwhile, households possessing one motor vehicle totalled 49,824, up by 6.8%, lower than the growth rate of households.
 
For more detailed results and information about the 2016 Population By-census, please visit the DSEC website (http://www.dsec.gov.mo).
 

Related Information: Detailed Results of 2016 Population By-Census
Government of Macao Special Administrative Region      Statistics and Census Service
Address: Alameda Dr. Carlos d'Assumpção, No. 411-417, Dynasty Plaza, 17th floor, Macao
General Enquiries: (853)2872 8188      Enquiries on Statistical Data: (853)8399 5311      E-mail: info@dsec.gov.mo
Site Map

這裡有我們的歷史、組織架構及相關法例。服務及產品這裡載有調查受訪者所關心的各類問題。宣傳活動這裡為您解答統計調查及統計知識的常見問題。服務承諾統計教室聯絡我們
首頁 > 統計資料 > 人口 > 中期人口統計 > 2016中期人口統計詳細結果
 
2016中期人口統計詳細結果
05/05/2017

為掌握最新的人口變動狀況,統計暨普查局於2016年8月進行「2016中期人口統計」。繼去年底公布中期人口統計初步結果後,統計局現公布詳細結果。
 
近五年人口增長速度加快,人口老化持續
2016年8月澳門總人口有650,834人,較2011人口普查的552,503人增加17.8%,主要是居澳外地僱員大幅增加以及出生率回升所致。2011年至2016年間澳門人口的年平均增長率達3.3%,為過去二十年之最。不包括居澳外地僱員及外地學生的本地人口有537,018人,較2011年上升10.7%。
 
澳門人口持續老化,年齡在65歲及以上的老年人口較五年前大幅增加48.6%至59,383人,佔總人口9.1%,比重較五年前上升1.9個百分點。老年人口與0至14歲的少年兒童人口之百分比更上升15.6個百分點至76.3%。另一方面,年齡在55至64歲人口(87,583人)已佔總人口13.5%,預計未來十年人口老化速度將進一步加快。
 
澳門人口女多男少
女性人口較男性多,女性有336,816人,男性人口有314,018人,分別佔總人口51.8%及48.2%。性別比為93.2,即每百名女性對93.2名男性。本地人口方面,性別比由五年前的92.7下降至90.2,女多男少的情況更為明顯。
 
平均初婚年齡持續上升
年齡在16歲及以上人口中,未婚人士佔29.9%,較五年前增加0.7個百分點;已婚的佔63.2%,減少0.8個百分點。平均初婚年齡持續上升,由2011年的29.0歲進一步上升至2016年的29.5歲。
 
人口密度不斷上升
澳門人口密度為每平方公里21,340人,較五年前的18,478人增加15.5%。人口密度最高的仍是黑沙環及祐漢區,每平方公里高達170,953人,其次是林茂塘區,每平方公里達146,857人。
 
黑沙環及祐漢區人口最多,路環區人口增長最快
黑沙環及祐漢區仍是人口最多的統計分區,佔總人口的11.8%,其次是氹仔中心區及黑沙環新填海區,分別佔10.4%及9.9%。隨著公共房屋住戶的遷入,路環區人口較五年前急升5.3倍至26,889人;而入住宿舍的高等教育學生增加,帶動北安及大潭山區、大學及北安灣區人口亦大幅上升126.7%及99.2%。
 
教育程度持續提升,超過兩成人口具高等教育學歷
年齡在3歲及以上人口中完成高等教育的佔23.1%,較五年前上升6.4個百分點。另外,只有初中及以下程度的佔50.7%,顯著減少6.5個百分點。
 
三人戶佔最多
住戶總數共188,723戶,較五年前增加10.5%;住戶平均人數為3.07人,較2011年(3.08人)輕微下跌。按成員人數劃分,以三人戶最多,佔住戶總數24.5%,較五年前增加1.3個百分點;四人戶則下跌1.6個百分點至21.4%。
 
居於公共房屋的住戶增加
隨著公共房屋的供應增加,居於經濟房屋(22,096戶)及社會房屋(12,223戶)的住戶較五年前分別上升34.2%及108.8%,合共佔住宅單位住戶總數的18.3%,比重增加5.1個百分點;居於私人房屋的有153,299戶,佔81.7%,升幅僅為4.6%,當中已轉讓的經濟房屋有8,573戶。
 
居於自置單位住戶比例下跌,租戶比例上升
居於自置單位(單位屬住戶成員物業)的有124,126戶,佔住戶總數66.2%,較2011年下跌4.6個百分點。由於近年有較多住戶入住社會房屋,同時居澳外地僱員增加,令租住單位的住戶比例較五年前上升1.3個百分點至25.8%,有48,481戶。
 
擁有機動車的住戶持續增加
擁有機動車(電單車或私家車)的住戶較五年前上升13.1%至105,993戶。住戶擁有多輛機動車的情況亦趨普遍,擁有3輛及以上機動車的住戶有21,212戶,較五年前大幅上升28.9%;擁有1輛機動車的有49,824戶,升幅為6.8%,低於住戶的升幅。
 
關於2016中期人口統計更詳盡的結果及資料,請瀏覽統計暨普查局網頁(http://www.dsec.gov.mo)。

 

相關資料: 2016中期人口統計詳細結果
澳門特別行政區政府  統計暨普查局
地址: 澳門宋玉生廣場411-417號皇朝廣場17樓
總機: (853)2872 8188      統計資料查詢:(853)8399 5311      電郵:info@dsec.gov.mo
網站指南 | 私隱聲明